Skip to content

Gold Cup History

June 22, 2007

With the US in the Gold Cup Final on Sunday against Mexico, I was curious about the history of the tournament – where it had been played before, who was in it, and who won. So here’s the results:

Year Host Champion Score Runner-Up Semifinalists
1991 USA USA 0-0 (4-3 PK) Honduras Mexico, Costa Rica
1993 USA & Mexico Mexico 4-0 USA Costa Rica, Jamaica
1996 USA Mexico 2-0 Brazil USA, Guatemala
1998 USA Mexico 1-0 USA Brazil, Jamaica
2000 USA Canada 2-0 Colombia Peru, Trinidad & Tobago
2002 USA USA 2-0 Costa Rica Canada, South Korea
2003 USA & Mexico Mexico 1-0 (OT) Brazil USA, Costa Rica
2005 USA USA 3-1 Panama Honduras, Colombia
2007 USA ??? ??? ??? Canada, Guadalupe

My thoughts, looking at this chart…

  • I’m very glad that there aren’t any guest players in this year’s tournament.
  • As glad as I am to have a chance to see these games in person, isn’t it time to let somebody else host? Mexico could do it alone, or even Canada. I realize it’ll never happen (money talks, after all) but as a US supporter I want more experience playing away to prepare for World Cup qualifying.
  • There’s only been one final where both teams have scored? Wow.
  • If the US wins on Sunday (knock on wood) I think we’d have a claim on being the best team in the region over the history of the tournament. Mexico and the US would both have 4 titles, but Mexico would only have 5 final appearances to 6 for the US, and the US has only failed to make the semis once (in 2000), while El Tri has failed three times (2000, 2002, and 2005).
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: