Skip to content

My Mother The Cyborg

March 10, 2007

My mom had surgery on Thursday to replace both of her knees.

This has been coming for years – her knees had been giving her more and more trouble, and nothing seemed to permanently fix the problem. She got a new doctor a few years ago who decided to treat the problem more aggressively – gave her injections in the knees, talked to her about reducing her weight, etc – but to the surprise of noone nothing actually fixed things. So last Thursday she checked in to Akron General Hospital to become the Bionic Mother.

I’m happy to report that she’s doing (mostly) fine. Her blood pressure is a bit too low for the doctor’s liking, and she’s only been out of bed once since the surgery – when she almost passed out. Originally she was supposed to be going home tomorrow, but now that’s looking like Monday or even later.

From the hospital, she’s going to be in rehab for about two weeks at another facility – one that’s going to be more proactive about making her do the needed rehab work to get her back on her feet. Then she’ll need a walker for a while at home, but at least she’ll be able to move at something close to a reasonable speed, without grimacing (we hope).

It’s all a bit stressful, partly because the last family member of mine who had surgery (my grandmother, the week before my wedding) didn’t survive the procedure – the surgery (to remove blockages in her arteries) knocked loose some of the blockages and she never woke up.

I’m hoping to make it up to Akron sometime soon to see her, but wasn’t able to tonight because she’s not feeling all that well and has plenty of people to keep her company between my father and my two sisters. Sooner or later I expect my three aunts to show up as well, and I’m sure my brother’s been to see her at least once. Still, going to see her is also a bit about giving me comfort as it is to comfort her – so regardless of anybody else I still want to see her.

Hopefully by the next time I put an entry together she’ll be out of the hospital.

I love you, Mom.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jamie permalink
    March 13, 2007 9:53 am

    Hmmm… I was around your mom and her sisters at your wedding… are you sure having them around is going to be the most restful thing for your mom? 🙂

    Best wishes to her on a speedy recovery!

Leave a Reply

