Skip to content

Refugees Find Hostility and Hope on Soccer Field

January 23, 2007
src=\”https://morphosis7.files.wordpress.com/2009/05/1169586749-hr-204.jpg\”

Refugees Find Hostility and Hope on Soccer Field

Any description I write will just take time away from reading this article about a youth soccer team of refugees outside Atlanta, Georgia. So go read it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    January 23, 2007 2:09 pm

    Yup, I read it over the weekend. Great article. It both angered me and made me proud. Somtimes I wonder if one of the reasons there is such a bias towards the sport is because it represents change and/or something different: a quality it’s only human to reject

  2. Jamie permalink
    January 24, 2007 1:23 pm

    I think you’re dead-on, American Hoodlum. People hate change, and particularly in those things they perceive as their most sacred institutions. And sports is one of those. Clarkston strikes me as a fascinating little town to live in, but if I’d grown up there and had so much change so quickly… I can’t say I wouldn’t feel threatened. I hope I wouldn’t act like the residents who want to get rid of the refugees, but unless you’re in that situation it’s hard to tell.

    Great article, Matt.

Leave a Reply

