Skip to content

Overcaffeinated

November 22, 2006

It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
It is by the beans of java the thoughts acquire speed,
The hands acquire shaking,
The shaking becomes a warning.
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.

Today is proving…challenging. The last day before a holiday is always stressful, trying to wrap everything up before the long weekend. Toss in the end-of-quarter crush as students all start ramping up their projects, and a delayed website redesign that is finally beginning to gather steam, and you have a recipe for a day that starts as soon as I get to the office and ends 30 minutes after I was supposed to leave.

Oh – and we got sent home early today, not that everybody got the email (the folks on the first floor apparently were told in plenty of time, but the IT staff and I up on the fourth floor never heard anything). Half an hour after I left a page comes through that one of the computers in the fab lab has had its mouse go bad, and I have no way of getting back to work (I carpool). I’ll have to get back in some time tonight to check things out, which is never a fun proposition.

There are days where I really love my job. And there are days where I want to chuck it all and curl up in a little ball under the covers. I’m hoping to avoid the latter temptation today.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

