Skip to content

Vote!

November 7, 2006
src=\”https://morphosis7.files.wordpress.com/2009/05/1162908848-sc-154.jpg\”

Have you voted today?

Carole and I got to our polling place at 6:15 this morning – and we weren\’t first in line. There were maybe half a dozen people in front of us, and by the time they opened the doors there were maybe 20 of us waiting to get in. Luckily they had a lot more voting machines than in 2004 (when we waited over 2 1/2 hours), so we were out fairly quickly.

This was also the first time our precinct had the fancy schmancy touch screen booths – which were kind of cool, in fact. They also had a paper trail ticker on the left side so you could check to see that your vote was in fact being recorded correctly. Yes, I checked mine – not that I don\’t trust Blackwell (well, actually…) but its my responsibility to make sure my voice is heard.

So, with my \”I voted today\” sticker proudly on my shirt, I\’ve signed up for CNN\’s email alerts and plan on vegging out on the evening news tonight.

If you haven\’t voted yet, what are you waiting for?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    November 7, 2006 7:08 am

    Jamie, Duncan and I went at 7:05AM walked in signed in voted – all under 10 minutes. I watched the paper ticket like you on the hoity toity electronic voting booth

  2. Jamie permalink
    November 7, 2006 10:41 am

    Yeah, it was a relief to the see paper trail being written out. We got in and out real quickly, as Jenn said. But there were two precincts at our location and the other precinct was not moving nearly as quickly. Glad we weren’t them!

Leave a Reply

