Skip to content

Coders Block

November 1, 2006

I hate it when I’m working on a project and feel like I’m not making any progress.

For the last two months or so, I’ve been working on a freelance project for a company, converting an ASP-based application to ColdFusion. I’m pretty decent in both languages, and for a while the conversion was going well. Lately, however (i.e. the last month or so) it’s been like pulling teeth to make any headway. That bugs me, because I really, really don’t like feeling useless.

The last day or two I thought I had a way to get past one of the roadblocks, but tonight I think that prospect came crashing down in a heap of rubble. One of the performance targets for this application is a page refresh rate of 10 seconds – which is not quite the speeds I’m getting now. I had thought that by loading more calculation into the SQL statements, rather than using CF loops, I could get some speed improvements – but it turns out the code I’d be replacing isn’t where the delays are happening. So it’s back to the drawing board.

I’m not sure this would be bothering me as much if I wasn’t also spinning my wheels on a site re-design at my day job – but now it seems that whatever code I look at is a reminder of how little progress I’m making.

On that note, I’m going to try and get some sleep. Tomorrow morning is going to come too quickly.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

