Skip to content

php echo \’ Hello World \’;

August 1, 2006
src=\”https://morphosis7.files.wordpress.com/2009/05/1154492034-hr-99.jpg\”

I\’ve started teaching myself PHP.

As part of my professional development strategy, and to help me be more competitive for freelance coding work, I\’ve decided that I should at least be decent in working with ASP, Coldfusion, and PHP. I\’ve already got ASP and Coldfusion covered through my day job and Matchnight, but thus far the deepest I\’ve ever gotten into PHP coding is the generic phpinfo() function for a job that ended up being done in ASP.

As part of this process, I\’ve signed up for some free space on a PHP provider. Of course, what I really need is a project to devote all this energy to. Any suggestions? So far I\’ve come up with the following ideas:

  • Something soccer related – but nothing that would compete with the work I do at Matchnight (which rules a lot of things out)
  • Architecture – maybe a database of famous architects (kind of like GreatBuildings.com)
  • A blog, something to mimic what\’s offered here perhaps
  • A profile of all the ska bands I enjoy listening to, or something like The Covers Project
  • Something to do with my latest obsession, Su Do Ku

As always, comments are very welcome. Challenge me… 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. Thierry Henraldinho permalink
    August 2, 2006 1:48 am

    download Xampp and you can do PHP dev on your own machine. It’s easy to install and configure and comes with Apache and MySQL as well as a buynch of other stuff

Leave a Reply

