Skip to content

Food

July 31, 2006

Carole and I have been going to the grocery store every week lately as part of our new budget plan (smaller, regular trips rather than 1-2 huge trips a month) – which has me thinking about a goal I’ve had for a while now.

I’ve often wanted to be able to go to a grocery store and come home with only actual foods. No boxes, no chemicals, just fruits, vegetables, meats, dry staples etc. It’s a lot harder than I thought it would be – partly because I drink Kool-Aid, eat pasta, and have cereal and granola bars for breakfast.

A few months ago I flirted with the idea of stopping at Kroger’s on the way home after work each day – my bus transfer is right by our local store, so if I time things right I could buy the next day’s food on the way home.

Of course, that would also mean spending a lot more time in the kitchen preparing food – and time is something I don’t have in spades these days. Time to bake, time to cook, time to prepare – and time to clean. A larger kitchen wouldn’t hurt either.

I guess this is going to be a long-term dream for a while longer – but I don’t see it going away any time soon.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    August 1, 2006 7:20 am

    We’ve been trying to do as much as possible – however like you time factors in. I’d rather spend more time with Jamie & Duncan than one of us preparing dinner for a hour or so… usually Duncan & I do not get home until after 6pm and he goes down around 8:30PM

  2. Jamie permalink
    August 3, 2006 7:29 am

    Kudos to you. The more you can get out of the boxes when you’re eating, the healthier you’ll be.

Leave a Reply

