Skip to content

A Quandry at Work

July 21, 2006

So early next week we’re bringing in a candidate for the “headmaster” position. The staff is supposed to meet with him on Monday for an hour, and I’m debating the wisdom of asking him a question about the circumstances under which he’s interviewing for this position. Specifically, the timing for him to potentially be leaving his current position is a concern for me. I’m worried that, given the current circumstances, he might leave our school for even greener pastures at an inopportune time.

On the other hand, I don’t want to present our school, our staff, or myself in too confrontational a light by asking something that may be too forward, too skeptical, or too distrusting. I don’t want to run him off or tarnish the school’s reputation by giving him too hard a time over a situation I may be misunderstanding.

So, oh collective wisdom – what do you think? Comment, vote in the poll…you know how to get ahold of me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    July 25, 2006 5:33 am

    That is a question I have always been asked when interviewing for a new position with another company. If you ask what circumstances at the other place of employment led to his decision to move on – it becomes non confrontational and makes the interviewee seem like you understand that the other place obviously had to do something to make the candidate begin to actively seek another place of employment.
    Heck, I was even asked this question when I was hired here – and I had just been laid off!!!

  2. Jamie permalink
    July 26, 2006 6:53 am

    I agree with my wife, Matt. An interview is your time to get to know the candidate, and you should be frank about expectations and such. If he’s not the right person for the job, you should know that beforehand.

    I don’t think such a question would do any of the things you mention about putting the school in a bad light. If I was asked that question, I would not think anything bad – just a potential employer watching their asses a bit.

Leave a Reply

