Skip to content

Goodbye Gabby

July 9, 2006
src=\”https://morphosis7.files.wordpress.com/2009/05/1152449055-hr-73.jpg\”

Yesterday was a bad day. We had to give away our Jack Russell Terrier, Gabby. A woman that Carole works with and her husband (Shawn and Laura) took her – which is a silver lining in a very dark cloud. We know Shawn and Laura, they\’ve watched Gabby for us in the past; she likes being with them, and they love her. They don\’t have a house, but Laura rides horses and so can take Gabby with her when she goes to the barn.

Gabby had snipped at Xavier a few times, which made us worried that she\’d injure him – even unintentionally. She was having a hard time adjusting to the fact that we have a child now, and it was getting harder for us to pay her the attention that she needs – if you\’ve ever had a Jack Russell, you know what I mean. Plus, with how expensive child care is turning out to be we have to cut costs beyond what we\’re comfortable with right now – so something had to give.

I hate that this was necessary – losing Gabby has hit me a lot harder than I thought it was. I\’ve always been a cat person (which makes me really afraid for if/when we have to give Hazel up), and there have been plenty of times where I\’ve been frustrated with Gabby and her behavior. Still, when Shawn and Laura came to the house yesterday I got choked up. It\’s better today – I can look at pictures of her and remember the good times without feeling like I\’m going to lose it.

My hope is that they\’ll need us to dog-sit for them if they go out of town, just like they did for us on occasion. That\’s one of the hopes that has made this easier, that I\’ll still get to see her – just not as often.

Until then, Gabby – I miss you.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jamie permalink
    July 10, 2006 7:35 am

    Been there myself, pal. As you may remember, we had to get rid of Brandy when Duncan was born because she was continually testing Jenn for dominance. That’s not an easy thing to do at all.

    At least you will have the chance to see her with your friends! 🙂

Leave a Reply

