Skip to content

Celebration

May 2, 2006

So I officially made my “goal” weight tonight at WeightWatchers – I’m under 180 pounds, having lost almost 20 in the last 10 weeks. Now, I’ve got 6 weeks to keep this weight before I become a “lifetime” member and can attend meetings for free. It’s been a rewarding process, largely because it’s helped me change my thoughts on what types of food are good, etc.

Plus, this last weekend I got to buy a new belt – since my old ones were starting to get a bit loose on the smallest setting. The one I got was a medium (32-36), and pretty artsy-funky. It’s nice to have some more concrete indication that I’m getting thinner than just the numbers on the scale.

Next up – getting my good cholesterol a bit higher. I went through OSU’s personal health assessment a few weeks ago, and that was the biggest thing to come from that appointment. From the literature they gave me at the time, it means eating a bit more fish in my diet (hey Jamie, how does this match up with the no-starch plan?) I’ll have to go through and review the other numbers to make sure I’m not missing anything, but my assumption is that if I can get the cholesterol numbers where they should be, that I’ll be in good shape to re-start running, etc.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Maria C permalink
    May 3, 2006 6:29 am

    Well done, Matt! I’ll have to get some pointers after this baby arrives.

  2. Jamie permalink
    May 3, 2006 6:59 am

    Good work, Matt! Always nice to meet a health goal.

    I’ve read recently, though, that people who only diet and don’t work out have higher levels of cortisol in their bodies. Cortisol is an important hormone that everyone needs, but high levels of it breaks down muscle and increases fat retention. That’s why you often hear about people who diet and diet and never lose any weight – they aren’t getting exercise and their stress levels are too high. Cortisol and stress go hand in hand.

    Running is good, but I’d throw in some wind-sprints too. Exercise that gets you out of breath quickly and works major muscle groups is great for cutting cortisol and raising Human Growth Hormone, which keeps you young.

    As far as the effectiveness of the no-starch plan with cholesterol levels… um… I don’t know. I’m just doing it to try to lose fat in general, as well as keep my sugar levels… level. 🙂 I’ll look around and ask questions and see what I can find.

    Be careful with the fish you buy, too. Too much fish is loaded with mercury due to all the mercury in our waters (Thanks Dubya!). Fish high in Omega-3 fatty acids will do the most to raise your good cholesterol (as well as many other benefits). Salmon, anchovies, cod, halibut, and most of your popular shellfish have the most Omega-3’s in them.

Leave a Reply

