Skip to content

Pottery Barn Is The New Coconuts

April 19, 2006

I’ve been noticing lately that my radio is no longer where I hear about new bands and new music that I’m interested in; and it hasn’t been for a while. And music stores aren’t where I buy music, either.

Actually, Carole and I buy most of our CD’s lately from Pottery Barn – or the Gap, or Ruehl, or…well you get the point. Maybe I’m just getting too suburban, too unhip, too…I don’t know. The last 3 CDs we bought are a club/house mix from Ruehl at Easton, a jazz sampler from Pottery Barn, and a Christmas classics CD from Pottery Barn.

New bands? Check out websites like www.indiekids.org, or www.christopherporter.com. Oh yeah – and http://copycommaright.blogspot.com. MP3 blogs, all of them – and damn good ones. IndieKids (full name: Teaching The Indie Kids To Dance Again) posted Hard-Fi’s “Cash Machine” all the way back in July – and that song is only now getting heavy play on the alternative stations’ “launching pad” countdowns. Ditto for The Cloud Room’s “Hey Now Now” – which I’d obsessed over and sated myself of by the time it made CD101 several months later.

ChristopherPorter’s site (The Suburbs Are Killing Us) is a pretty eclectic mix of styles, from Caribbean mishmash to Matisyahu to sub-Saharan African artists, with a good mix of Norwegian jazztronica. The author’s day job is as  music critic for the Washington Post.

Copy, Right? is a covers-only blog – to which I owe the extreme pleasure of having found Grover singing the blues, a Belgian children’s choir covering Puddle of Mudd’s “She Fucking Hates Me” and several other gems.

Does anybody else find themselves doing similar things? Where else can I get good music samplers/demos?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jamie permalink
    April 21, 2006 11:24 am

    I’d start checking out podcasts. I listen to one called the Irish and Celtic Music Podcast that features new music by new and old Celtic/Irish artists. Sometimes I hear something I know, but most often it’s new to me. There are podcasts on all sorts of topics so I’m sure you can find something you like.

Leave a Reply

