Skip to content

Soccer and Infants

December 8, 2005

Xavier is 4 weeks old today, and with the World Cup draw tomorrow, and Christmas coming and it’s shopping, I have some random observations:

  • it’s interesting how much our lives can change between World Cups. 4 years ago, Carole and I hadn’t moved in together yet – but we were discussing the idea. Parenthood was a vague theoretical notion. The biggest benefit to my apartment was that you could see Crew Stadium from the front porch. Now, Carole and I are married with a mortgage, parenthood is lying in my lap after a feeding, and the biggest drawback to where we live is that Columbus Public Schools are atrocious in our neighborhood.
  • It’s nearly impossible to find soccer gear for an infant outside of Europe. I’ve looked through the catalogs for all the teams I follow. The Crew and US Soccer go down to “youth small” for all their jerseys – nothing approaching infant sizes. Lille doesn’t sell anything online (that’s what I get for following a mid-major club in France). Fulham is the only club to offer anything in infant sizes – I can get their full home and away kits for infants down to 12 months (and they have a line of onesies for 0-3 months). I guess I know what Xavier’s first uniform is going to be…
  • I can’t wait to start playing soccer (or at least “kick the ball”) with Xavier.

If anybody can recommend a good place to shop for infant soccer stuff, please drop me a line or a comment.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    March 29, 2006 10:54 am

    umm Glasgow celtic has plenty of stuff for infants… Jamie just won’t let me dress Duncan in it 7 days a week.

  2. Jamie permalink
    March 31, 2006 7:08 am

    Well, then he wouldn’t have time for all the Notre Dame, BlueJackets, etc. stuff we have for him!

Leave a Reply

